The City is My Inspiration

Where do you get your ideas from?

This is my first #LETSBLOGOFF  Topic!

The things I've seen and continue to inspire me (yes, that includes sneakers)!

To say that one’s ideas are all original is a bit of an exaggeration. We cannot possibly deny the influence of others on our work and our creativity.

I get my ideas from walking the streets of a city. I’m inspired by architecture, urban decay, parks, flowers, sidewalk patterns, fashion and museums, you name it! I’m inspired by community organizers and grassroots activists who go the extra mile to create change for those who need it most. I’m inspired by people who are passionate about about a subject, an object, a person (no, I am NOT talking threesome here) or a place and will share that passion with others, regardless of who they are.

The city inspires me. Its museums open a world of infinite possibilities never thought possible. Its parks and squares re-energize my senses and ground my thoughts and feelings. Its neighborhoods allow me to appreciate the richness of our cultural diversity and differences in opinions. Its people emphasize my interest in fashion and its parallels with architecture and design.

There are so many things that inspire me about a city that I could write a book, but I much rather let you explore it on your own terms.

Where do you get your ideas from? What inspires you?

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Your passion for your city and for all forms personal expression inspires ME! I’ll be waiting on that book… ; )

    Oh and your collage is awesome! Beautifully vibrant! Sneakers too…!

    Reply
    • Hahaha! Thanks for hopping over and commenting! So this really qualifies as a collage! Phew!

      Reply
  2. Ginny Powell

     /  April 26, 2011

    Welcome to LetsBlogOff! Love the pictures especially of the red sneakers!

    Reply
  3. I grew up in the heart of St. Paul and Boston always strikes me as a St. Paul, but a whole lot bigger. Been stuck in the suburbs for so long that when I get back or get to Boston, NYC, Baltimore or Philly, I seek out neighborhoods that have business and residential all mixed in together to recapture some of that feeling of being “complete.” One doesn’t have to go that far to find these kinds of things in places in cities like these. Thanks for hopping on the LetsBlogOff train! Hope to see you often.

    Reply
    • Thank you for your comment! I’ve haven’t been to St. Paul, MN yet, but do know of people here in Boston who have been and they say the same thing about Boston and St. Paul. That’s one of those things about living in large or mid-size cities like Boston, every neighborhood has a different feeling and places to explore, which I love.

      Reply
  4. This is an interesting topic and I look forward to checking out LetsBlogOff.

    I’m inspired by cultural changes over time and the connections that material culture helps us document. For example, I am currently transcribing an 1882 diary that I found in a local antique shop. I have narrowed the location of the diary’s writer between three towns in Maine. I plan to spend at least part of my summer on the Maine coast searching for the names of people mentioned in the diary in their local city directories. The author mentions church bells being installed, buildings being renovated, shops in town, diseases…I find it thrilling that this little booklet that covers only six months of one person’s life makes so many connections to this person’s world. I look forward to learning if the churches are still there, if the bells are still used today, if the health books that must have once recorded the outbreaks in town still exist. It’s exciting to form a complete idea about a place throughout time by following an historical record left by our ancestors.

    Reply
    • Hi Melissa! Thank you for commenting! Let’s Blog Off has been going on for a short while. A group of bloggers discuss a certain topic or question twice a month and post their answers on that Tuesday the question is due.My first time, some of the questions are challenging, so I jumped in with a not so challenging one.

      About your project: that sounds amazing! What is most amazing is that it covers so much in so little time! Looking forward to seeing/reading the entire outcome of your research.

      Reply
  5. Hollie

     /  April 26, 2011

    Ah, St Paul. Lovely place. I liked Mears Park, the nearby farmer’s market, and the old house… Ramsey, that was his name I think. (You’d never know I spent many days at the MN History Center) Nice to meet you, and welcome to the group. Drop a line next time you’re in Philly!

    Reply
  6. Nice graphic to put an image to your words.

    Reply
  7. Welcome to #LetsBlogOff! I walk around taking photos also… I make believe I’m The Sartorialist (what a great gig he has going!) I hope you join us again. This was a beautiful post. Especially loved this: “Its neighborhoods allow me to appreciate the richness of our cultural diversity and differences in opinions. Its people emphasize my interest in fashion and its parallels with architecture and design.”

    Reply
  8. Vibrant and eclectic! I like it! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

