The Bucket List: Boston Edition

Boston’s Channel 5 recently asked their “fans” on Facebook to come up with a bucket list of things and places every Bostonian must do and see before they die. Most of the things on the list are boring, overplayed and are for the most part, tourists traps. Looking at the slide show on the WCBV website, I was extremely disappointed that people in Boston do not consider Trinity Church to be one of those places they MUST see before they die. I will not rant here, I’ve already done that on Twitter and I’ve already blogged or mentioned Trinity Church here, here, here, here, here, and I’m sure there are least two or three more mentions through out The Evolving Critic.

Here’s a list of things and places EVERY Bostonian should do and see before they die. Venture out into the city and stop following the Freedom Trail (assuming every Bostonian has already done it, right?).

Trinity Church – the interior will blow you away. Please. Do. Go. See. This. American. Architectural. Masterpiece.

Boston Harbor Islands - There are 34, many open to the public. One of the best summer experiences you’ll have.

I cannot find ANY of my images I shot at the Islands a few years back. This is one is taken from http://www.boston.com

Lantern Festival-Forest Hills CemeteryTruly magical. Whether you’ve lost a loved one or not, it’s a powerful experience. I’m uncertain whether the Education Trust will host the event this year, but everyone must attend this event before they die.
Highland Park Stand Pipe – Roxbury. Roxbury is beautiful in the spring and summer. The Stand Pipe is a must see.

The Cochituate Standpipe, built in 1869. Im proud of taking this picture!

Rembrandt’s Self Portrait at the Gardner Museum. It’s in Boston, why not see it? Rembrandt painted it at age 23! AMAZING!
Walk the entire Emerald Necklace. I have NOT done this all in one day, but I have visited all of the parks individually, will complete this summer though. I have completed the entire Emerald Necklace in one day (someday I’ll write about it, for now head over to Boston Urban Safari and check out Cristy’s perspective).
Chapel at MIT. Eero Saarinen. Sculpture by Harry Bertoia. Just beautiful, oh so beautiful. So so so so beautiful. I like sacred places. I really do.

Saarinens Chapel, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Drink – Have a cocktail at Drink. Have “The Last Word” for me. Or anything with Chartreuse. ONLY 21+.

Drink. Photo: http://www.boston.com. This guy is always the one that makes my drinks. Hes excellent. They all are. I havent been in a while though.

Kayak/Canoe the Charles River. Do it.

Im the one on the back. I stole this from my friends FB page; the one in the front. Ill keep looking for my OWN photos.

What else would you recommend to Bostonians to add to their Bucket List. TRINITY CHURCH is a MUST!
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. I’d add Old North Church, which has a superior example of an interior that is “modern” for its time. Its space is unusually open with minimal dependence on columns, its diversely sized windows express the degrees of importance of the individual functions of their spaces (the largest for the minister and the chancel, the smallest for the sexton and the belfry tower), and its design is quite simple and straightforward for its times.

    Reply
  2. kim

     /  March 23, 2011

    Clearly the Arnold Arboretum has to be on here. It’s gorgeous here at any time during the year, but fall is particularly spectacular, with all the different colors. And the view of the city from Peters Hill is absolutely priceless. And the best part is – it’s freeeeeeeeeee!

    Reply
    • Yes Kim, I love the Arboretum myself. I considered it part of the Emerald Necklace which I mentioned on this list. It is the shining jewel of the necklace and it is impossible to not stop by if walking the entire string of parks.

      Reply
  3. jay

     /  March 23, 2011

    the lantern festival no longer exists but was amazing

    Reply
    • That’s sad! It was such a memorable experience! Great thing I had attended twice before!

      Reply
      • Ann

         /  March 24, 2011

        The festival is not officially gone forever. All activities at the cemetery are on hold this year, as it appears that the folks who run the cemetery are reassessing their priorities. Personally, I think it would be really silly if they decide not to re-institute the Lantern Festival since it is popular, well-attended, and seems to make money for FHC. And, of course, it is gorgeous!

      • Thanks for your comment Ann. Yes, that’s what I recall from the strategic planning letter FHC sent out to members/friends. It would be sad if they don’t bring it back in the future! I personally think is one of those places/events everyone must see/experience before they die.

  4. maria

     /  March 24, 2011

    Pick up geocaching as a hobby and you will discover all the hidden jewels in Boston, too many to list here…

    Reply
  1. In Pursuit of Urban Nature: Hiking Olmsted’s Emerald Necklace « The Evolving Critic

Leave a Reply

