The Lantern Festival

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Forest Hills Cemetery was founded in 1848 as a rural picturesque cemetery. Every summer in July, the cemetery organizes a lantern festival inspired by eastern Asian Buddhist rituals. This year the weather was perfect for a night of honoring, remembering and celebrating the lives of those who have left this world. I love events like these because they bring people from all walks of life together in a beautiful setting.

For more information on Forest Hills Cemetery, click here.

For more information on the Forest Hills Educational Trust, click here.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. The pictures in this post are simply stunning. Granted, I have a small bias as I am half-Asian, but the artistry of these photos is just superb.

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog to comment. Yours is so useful and helpful for visiting incredibly interesting places! :D

    Reply
    • Thank you so much Jamie! I’m sure you are still feeling on cloud nine after being selected for “Freshly Pressed.” Trust me, I still am on cloud nine! It’s a great feeling to have your blog exposed to so many people out there!

      Reply
      • I am indeed! Though at the moment I’m just relieved I managed to catch up to all the comments on that post. It’s wonderful to know that people enjoy what you write about, though!

Leave a Reply

